Lavender Cottage – Local Area

The historic village of Eyam (pronounced ‘eem’), in the Peak District National Park in Derbyshire, which became famous after the Black Death of 1665 and 1666. An outbreak of the plague was contained when the villagers decided to isolate themselves from the surrounding communities. Many people in the village died. It is also known that some of the village population were genetically unique and naturally immune to this very deadly disease. There are still descendants of this line in Eyam.

Village life in Britain has changed considerably in the past fifty years, and many villages have emptied as people moved away to the towns. Eyam however still has a vibrant community and thriving businesses. Eyam has links with industry, being a worldwide centre for the production of fluorspar, a material of great value in smelting and open hearth furnaces.

‘Wakes Week’ at the end of August is a high point in the village year. Various community events take place and the historic Well Dressings, designed and created each year by local people, are put on display. Wakes Week culminates in the village Carnival, which is great fun and raises substantial sums for local charities. The Plague Memorial Service also takes place on the Sunday of the August Bank Holiday weekend, where the experience of the village during the plague is remembered and honoured. It starts with a procession from the church to Cucklet Delf where the service is held, commemorating the outdoor services also held there during the time of the plague when the church was closed.

There are many places of interest to visit in the village, including St Lawrence’s Church, the Boundary Stone, the Riley Graves (where the Hancock family were buried, their only survivor being Mrs Hancock who buried her husband and six children), Mompesson’s Well, the Darby Graves and Eyam Hall.

Food & drink:

    • Cafe Village Green: Quirky cafe in the heart of Eyam. Fab coffee & tempting home baking. Located in the Square. Open Thu – Mon 9.15 – 4.15
    • Eyam Tea Rooms: Licensed tea rooms on The Square. all day breakfasts and lunch until 3.30pm, home-baked cakes, and snacks until closing. Open Tue – Sun
    • ​Ivy Cottage: Vintage Tea Room at Dale Head, the Lydgate.
    • The Coolstone: Open for dining and drinks Tue – Sun.
    • The Coolstone Nook: Open for daytime coffee, drinks, snacks, and ice cream in the courtyard at Eyam Hall.
    • ​The Miners Arms: Open Tuesday to Sunday